South Florida PBS Receives 16 Nominations for 2018 NATAS Suncoast Chapter Emmy ® Awards
Google+ shareEmail share
2018 Suncoast Emmy Awards

South Florida PBS announces it has received 16 Emmy nominations from The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) Suncoast Chapter 2018 for programs SFPBS has produced. SFPBS also was the broadcast partner for 6 additional Emmy nominated programs. Winners will be announced on Saturday, December 1, 2018.

“We are thrilled to receive these Emmy ® nominations in a single year. We are gratified that these outstanding programs and all of the production teams involved have earned such recognition,” said Executive Vice President Bill Scott.

The Suncoast Chapter of The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences is the standard-bearer for excellence in the television industry and the gatekeeper of the prestigious regional EMMY® Awards in the Suncoast Region. The Suncoast Chapter represents the best and brightest television and media professionals from all disciplines of the industry and from all the Suncoast region’s television markets.

Below is the list of the South Florida PBS 2018 Emmy Award Nominations:


Arts/Entertainment/Program category:

Film-maker “Changes”

Yamilet Hernandez


Children’s Programs:

Kid Stew # 101

James Patterson, Tim Malloy, Frank Costantini, Brian Sitts, Johanna Vega, Scott Barnett.

Kid Stew # 102

James Patterson, Tim Malloy, Frank Costantini, Brian Sitts.

Kid Stew # 103

James Patterson, Frank Costantini, Brian Sitts.

Kid Stew # 104

James Patterson, Frank Costantini, Brian Sitts.


Environment Programs:

Battleground Everglades “Algae Explosion”

Mary Pat Lang, Leesa Gordon, Penelope Douglas, Charles J. Kropke, Norman Silva, Brian Zeikowitz.

Burning Storm: Special Edition

Mary Pat Lang, Leesa Gordon, Penelope Douglas, Evan Flores, Brian Zeikowitz.


Documentary Cultural:

Film-maker - “Art Vessel

Mateo Vengoechea


Health/Science Programs:

Changing Seas “Dolphins: Breaking the Code”

Alexa Elliott, Sean Hickey.


Magazine Programs:

Check, Please! South Florida # 1506

Carolina Cuadra, Joyce Belloise.


Public/Current/Community Affairs:

Parkland: The Way Forward

Nicole Borrero, Pamela Bunge, Melissa Harmon, Robert Reep, Erlin Morandeira.


Direct/Non-Live category:

Kid Stew

Frank Costantini


Graphic Arts/Animation category:

South Florida PBS Animation

Norman Silva


Talent Nominations:

Kid Stew’s “Caroline”

Caroline de Leon

Kid Stew’s “Armando”

Armando Bernal IV


Photographer/Non-news category:

Changing Seas “Cryptic Critters”

Sean Hickey


South Florida PBS is proud to serve as the broadcast partner for the following Emmy-nominated programs:



Landscape Sublime

Dennis Scholl

Ed Talavera

Art Center South Florida


Everyday People

Dennis Scholl

Marlon Johnson

Art Center South Florida


Documentary Cultural:

Queen of Thursdays

Dennis Scholl

Orlando Rojas

Jorge Alvarez

Marlon Johnson

Cristina Dumas


A Journey to the Soul of Guna Yala

Stella Holmes

Joel Kaplan

David Counts


Documentary Historical:

My Dear Children

LeeAnn Dance

Cliff Hackel


A Call to Remember

Dennis Scholl

Ken Winikur

Michael Berenbaum

Sydney Carpel


About South Florida PBS

South Florida PBS is Florida’s largest public media company, including Public Broadcasting stations WXEL-TV, serving the Palm Beaches and WPBT2, serving Miami-Dade and Broward counties. South Florida PBS connects organizations and institutions across our region and preserves South Florida's history. Leading the way in this global society, South Florida PBS serves diverse communities from Key West to the Sebastian Inlet and from the Atlantic Ocean west to Lake Okeechobee. South Florida PBS is committed to creating and presenting unique arts, education and cultural heritage programming, and serves as a model for telling unique local stories across a variety of digital media platforms. National productions presented to public television stations by South Florida PBS include James Patterson’s Kid Stew, Battleground Everglades, Changing Seas, and Blue Chip Kids. For more information, visit